Skip to Content
Yellow alert icon NEW: Download our new public safety alert app, Atlas One, at:


Request a Public Record

Other links:

The Records Section is the central repository for incident and Florida Traffic Crash Reports generated by the Volusia Sheriff’s Office. The Unit is also responsible for the sealing and expunging of arrest records.

You can also obtain a public record through the following:

• Contact Records Section at 386-736-5962

• Written correspondence to: Volusia Sheriff’s Office, Attn: Records Section, PO Box 569, DeLand, FL 32720

• In person at the Volusia County Administrative Center, 123 W. Indiana Avenue, Suite 401, DeLand, FL

The Custodian of Records is Lisa Linden, 386-736-5962.

Members of the public may request the following records through the Records Section:

  • Incident reports
  • Calls for service
  • Local record checks
  • Insurance requests
  • Uniform Crime Reports
  • Traffic accident reports (see below for more details)

What fees may apply?

  • Black and white, single-sided copy: $0.15 each page
  • Black and white, double-sided copy: $0.20 each page
  • Color, single-sided copy: $0.25 each page
  • Color, double-sided copy: $0.35 each page
  • Body worn camera recordings and 911 audio: depends on research time
  • Extensive research: Deposit required according to nature of the request

Note: Extensive research fee is defined as a special service charge when the nature or volume of public records to be inspected is such as to require extensive use of information technology resources, or extensive clerical assistance or supervisory assistance or both.

What reports are obtainable and how do I obtain them?

Public records may be requested from the Records Section as follows.

All requests for public records will be filled in a timely manner during normal business hours, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. excluding holidays.

Requests are processed in the order they are received and may have a delayed response due to the nature of the request, volume received and/or the staffing available to process the requests.

If the report is open or a capias has been requested, the report will not be available to anyone except the victim or the victim’s representative until the case has a disposition or is closed. The victim must show ID and the representative must state they are a representative in writing. Some open cases may not be available even to the victim (ex: Major Case crimes).

Release of Florida Traffic Accident Reports

Per Florida Statute Section 316.066, effective June 5, 2001, accident reports are no longer a public record under the provisions of Florida Statute Section 119.07 for a period of 60 days after the date the report is filed. However, they can be made available immediately to:

  • The parties involved
  • Their legal representatives
  • Their licensed insurance agents
  • Their insurers
  • Persons under contract with such insurer to provide claims or underwriting information
  • Prosecutorial authorities
  • Radio and television stations licensed by the FCC
  • Qualifying newspapers
  • State and Federal Agencies authorized to have access to such reports by any provision of the law

When making a request for an accident report which falls within the 60 day time period, one of the following types of credentials and/or identification must be provided in support of any claim for access to be the requested report:

  • Driver’s license or other governmental issued picture ID, identifying the requester as a party involved in the accident
  • Signed and notarized letter from an involved party authorizing the pickup of the report on their behalf
  • Letter from an attorney stating they represent a party involved
  • Formal written request from an insurance company on company letterhead or otherwise clearly identifiable request form for each report identifying the parties they insure
  • Written proof demonstrating one is under contract with an insurer for the specific report requested and identifying the insured parties
  • State or Federal Credentials and/or licenses
  • As approved by a supervisor in the Records Unit
  • Reports may also be obtained from the Accident Report and Retrieval Service on line for a fee

Acceptable forms of payment include cash, money orders, cashier’s checks, personal checks. The deposit payment and completed form can either be delivered in person or mailed to:

Volusia Sheriff’s Office
Attention: Records
P.O. BOX 569
DeLand, FL 32721

Note: Obtaining confidential information by someone who knows they are not entitled to do so constitutes a felony violation per FL Statute 316.066.

We use cookies to provide and improve our services. By using our site, you consent to cookies.